Honour Roll

This Honour Roll of journalists, artists, photographers, cine cameramen and crews killed and wounded in action is in the process of being compiled. This part of our website is a work in progress, and suggestions or proposals for additions may be considered by the Board.

Killed in Action


  • William Lambie The Melbourne Age 5 February 1900 Natal in South Africa.


  • Phillip Schuler – The Melbourne Age – died a member of the AIF of wounds in France in June 1917


  • Ted Brenton The Sydney Daily Telegraph – Malta
  • J.C. Campbell The Sydney Daily Telegraph – Libya
  • Harold Dick The Sydney Daily Telegraph – New Guinea 1943
  • Randle Feildon The Sydney Daily Telegraph
  • R.P. Terpening DFC The Sydney Daily Telegraph
  • ACE Mcintosh The Sydney Daily Telegraph – Italy
  • Keith Palmer The Melbourne Herald – Solomons 1942
  • Thomas Fisher – Buna 1942
  • William Munday The Sydney Morning Herald – Italy 1943
  • Norman Stockton The Sydney Sun – Berlin 1943
  • Pendil Rayner The Brisbane Telegraph – New Guinea 1943
  • Damien Parer – Philippines 1944
  • John Elliott Sydney – Borneo July 1945
  • William Smith Perth – Borneo July 1945
  • Roderick McDonald The Sydney Morning Herald – Italy 1944
  • Hedley Metcalfe – Java 1942


  • Derek Pearcy Reuters – April 1951


  • Bruce Piggott Reuters – Saigon 5 May 1968
  • Michael Birch Reuters – Saigon 5 May 1968
  • John Cantwell Time Magazine – Saigon 5 May 1968
  • Ron Laramy (British-born) Reuters 1968


  • Greg Shackleton The Seven Network – Balibo 1975
  • Tony Stewart The Seven Network – Balibo 1975
  • Roger East AAP – 8 December 1975Gary Cunningham The Seven Network 1975
  • Brian Peters (British-born) Channel Nine 1975
  • Malcolm Rennie Channel Nine 1975


  • Tony Joyce ABC shot in Zambia, died London 4 February 1980


  • Neil Davis NBS TV – Bangkok in 1990


  • Harry Burton Reuters – 19 November 2001


  • Paul Moran ABC 2003



  • William Lambie The Melbourne Age


  • Smiler Hales


  • Charles Bean The Sydney Morning Herald – Gallipoli 1915


  • Tom Fairhall The Sydney Daily Telegraph Buna 1942
  • Geoffrey Reading The Daily Mirror Buna 1942
  • Keith Black Army journalist Buna 1942
  • Hayden Lennard ABC New Guinea 1943
  • Osmar White The Sun News Pictorial the Solomons 1943
  • Wilfred Burchett The Daily Telegraph Burma 1943
  • Selwyn Speight The Sydney Morning Herald China 1944


  • Tony Walker The London Financial Times – Ramallah September 1993


  • Jack Percival The Sydney Morning Herald prisoner of the Japanese 1944

Remembering the Balibo 5

On October 19 1975, five Australian war correspondents were murdered while they covered the unrest in East Timor. The Balibo 5 were Greg Shackleton (Ch 7 reporter), Gary Cunningham (Ch 7 camera), Tony Stewart (Ch 7 sound), Malcolm Rennie (Ch 9 reporter) and Brian Peters (Ch 9 camera). Then on 8 December 1975, an AAP/Reuters and ABC correspondent, Roger East, was captured and executed in Dili.

No person has ever been brought to justice for their murders.

40 years to the day after their tragic loss, and in the first formal commemorative use of the newly dedicated War Correspondents Memorial, the Balibo 5 and Roger East were remembered and honoured in an emotional Dawn Service on 19 October 2015. Members of the Shackleton, Stewart and Cunningham families were represented, with wreaths laid and a one minute silence observed.

The C.E.W. Bean Foundation was represented by Mark Riley and Warwick Costin, with numerous other representives present to pay tributes and lay wreaths. These included the Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance, the Federal Parliamentary Press Gallery, Timor Leste diplomats, family members and members of the public.

19 October remains a solemn and poignant day in the calendar of all people concerned with commemorating and remembering Australian War Correspondents.

Lest we forget.